What I miss most from Windows on a Mac

Beyond Compare: I have yet to find a better file/folder sync and poor man’s backup solution on Windows and nothing equivalent on Mac. Truly, it is beyond compare. I can’t do without it, so I run Beyond Compare on my Windows box and point it to a shared folder on the Mac whenever I have to do file or folder comparisons. UPDATE: Wikipedia’s comparison of file comparison tools is helpful.

Microsoft Money: I used to use Quicken. Quicken is fine for financial management, but their server software for connecting to banks and downloading transactions is significantly poorer than Money. The usual help from Quicken tech support was to delete an account and recreate it. Each time, I lost transactions older than about 90 days. Enough of that!

This entry was posted in Tools and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What I miss most from Windows on a Mac

  1. aashithraj says:

    You can also have a look at Winmerge. Its an open source software and I used it for my file and folder comparison work. Being an open source software, it is free.
    http://winmerge.org/

  2. twestley says:

    Thanks, I looked at their website and WinMerge looks pretty good. I’ll download and try it next time I can’t use Beyond Compare for some reason. It doesn’t appear to run on a Mac, which is what I’m looking for.

  3. aashithraj says:

    Sorry I read your post wrong. You can try a software called Text Wrangler on mac for comparing files or folders. The software I suggested above was for windows. My Bad.
    http://www.barebones.com/products/TextWrangler/download.html

Leave a Reply

