Is this the end for Python Math?

What’s the scariest communication a developer can receive from Apple?

From: App Review
Subject: Python Math: Application Submission Feedback

Hello Terry,

My name is Cathy and I’m writing on behalf of the App Review Team at Apple.

I would like to talk to you about your app.

At your earliest convenience, can you please give me a phone number where you can be reached?

It’s bad news, as I suspected.

An audit of Python Math, my most successful app, shows that it violates developer agreement paragraph 2.7 because it allows users to download and execute software from the internet. I don’t know why this was overlooked in the review process. The description of each new capability was very clear as I incrementally added them. But sloppiness of their review process is no defense.

I must remove iTunes file sharing and any other method for transferring scripts from outside the app. The Apple rep told me that the only acceptable scripts are those that the user types into the app. That’s nice for learning a little bit of Python, but makes the app unusable as a real tool.

Is it worth spending any more time on a scripting app into which the user cannot easily transfer scripts?

This entry was posted in iPhone, iPhone Dev and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Is this the end for Python Math?

  1. Russ Abraham says:

    Where did you get your blog layout from? I’d like to get one like it for my blog.

  2. twestley says:

    Blog theme is http://theme.wordpress.com/themes/kubrick/. I took the photo in the header.

  3. Irakli says:

    Hi,
    About version 1.5. New features are always welcome 🙂
    About removing of loading script feature, it was a very handy and I was using it frequently, it’s a pity that this feature no longer will be included in the new version.

  4. I am not sure I understand fully to be quite sincere.

    From what I understand, there is nothing that wouldn’t work in the way I am using your program, but please correct me if I am wrong:ç

    – I use Textastic for writing the code, (when doing it inside the ipad) but also because it integrates nicelly with dropbox and itunes… One could use any other app for that matter, GoodReader I think would work as long as it had .py extension.
    – From within this program, I export to PyM (in Textastic I use Open In…).
    – And use it freely in your app. I don’t think I have synced files through itunes with PyM anytime. Though, one would have to see from which programs this can be done, and if this process can be maintained with the new version or thats cut off also.

    Anyway, is there no way to put a sync with dropbox in a future version or something of the like?.

    Hope this helps and I am not babbling,

  5. twestley says:

    I have to remove both iTunes sync and Open In. There will be no direct loading of scripts from Textastic or DropBox.

    The consensus among users who’ve contacted me is that they’d like to see a script editor. Given that iPhone and iPad support paste in the OS, this will work but may not be as convenient as Open In. I plan to add a very simple script editor to the free version. If Apple does not ban that, I will start work on a more elaborate editor. If Textastic or other editor were to publish an SDK, I’d consider using that.

  6. Michal Szymanski says:

    The new version is in AppStore so the problem is set. I only wondered whether apps like Opera do not have the same problem? Do they not execute scripts (e.g. javascripts) loaded from the Internet?

  7. twestley says:

    There’s an exception for JavaScript when executed from WebKit. Does Opera use WebKit, or does it run it’s own JavaScript engine?

  8. Kim says:

    I am a beginner of python. And, I like your apps very much. When I am wondering how to load script from a folder, and I found this article. Too bad to know that the function was banned…
    I have few question:
    1) How to self-create a .py file? And, where will it be saved?Can I choose the destination?
    2) How to edit the “hpm.py” file which was preloaded in scripts folder?

  9. Peter says:

    You could provide an edit command maybe so that the user can type and store programs

  10. twestley says:

    A script directory and editor will be in the next release which is in final testing now.

  11. Bob says:

    So how do I move data to the Directory so I can analyze it?
    Exactly where is the Directory?

Leave a Reply

